Minutes for the Optical Networking Technical Committee (ONTC) Meeting GC 2013, Atlanta, Georgia Wednesday, December 11, 2013, 1:00 – 2:30 pm Room 403, Atlanta Hilton Hotel

Attendees: Suresh Subramaniam, Admela Jukan, George Rouskas, Matt Cao, Maite Brandt-Pearce, Wai Pang-Ng, Michael McGarry, Rami Haddad, Marcel Caria, Xiaomin Chen, Nathan Gomes, Chuan Foh, Elliot I. Gurrola, Martin Reisslein, Motoyoshi Sekiya, Thomas Yoon, Sunny Shakya, Nabina Pradhan, Ayush Shrestha, Kebina Manandhar, Sanish Rai, Ahmed Kamal, Houbing Song, Shouling Ji, Meny Han, Shohei Fujii, Yusuke Hirota, Long Gong, Xiohe Liu, Fan Ji, Zuqing Zhu, A. Manikas, Fen Zhou, Jaime Anguita, Yunfei Hou, Zilong Ye, Jean Armstrong, Hakki Cankaya, Vinod Vokkarane, Jeremy Plante, Thilo Schoendienst, Yongli Zhao, Shuqiang Zhang, Debras De, Tomasso Foggi, Filippo Cugini, Koji Kamakura, Eiji Oki, Naoaki Yamanaka, Takaya Miyajawa, Hui Yang, Arpeng Huang, Jianping Wang, Lutz Lampe.

- 1. Meeting started at 1:00 pm with lunch.
- 2. Self-introductions. Suresh presented the meeting agenda.
- 3. Announcements:
 - a. Suresh introduced the ONTC officers.
 - b. Suresh also announced that ONTC has been recommended for recertification. A few changes were recommended (e.g., updates on the web site), most of which have been implemented or will be completed soon.
 - c. TC HSN will be merged with ONTC.
 - d. A new service award will be established by ONTC and be awarded annually. A budget of \$500 is associated with the award.
 - e. The definition of "voting member" will have to be revisited to be in line with the ComSoc definition.
- 4. Election of Secretary of the ONTC.
 - a. The committee had received two nominations, and two other candidates were nominated from the floor today. The candidates were:
 - i. Maite Brandt-Pearce, University of Virginia, USA
 - ii. Matt (Xiaojun) Cao, Georgia State University, USA
 - iii. Ashwin Gumaste, IIT Bombay, India
 - iv. Wai Pang-Ng, University of Northumbria, UK
 - b. Suresh explained the election procedures. According to ONTC bylaws, balloting proceeds in rounds, with one candidate eliminated at each round.
 - c. The bios and statements of all candidates were read.
 - d. After three rounds of balloting, Matt (Xiaojun) Cao was elected Secretary of ONTC for 2014-2015.
 - e. Admela, the current Vice Chair, takes on the position of Chair of ONTC, and George, the current Secretary, takes on the position of Vice Chair.
 - f. Suresh, the outgoing Chair, thanked all the candidates, wished the new

Secretary success and promised to remain involved within ONTC. Matt thanked the members for their support and promised to advance the interests of the ONTC and the research community. Admela, the incoming Chair, thanked everyone for their participation, invited all to support ONTC in the future and attend the meetings.

- 5. Conference updates
 - a. Globecom '13: The ONS symposium is chaired by S.J. Ben Yoo and Eiji Oki. Eiji gave an update. 63 papers were submitted, and 25 papers were accepted. The best paper award was given to: "Design Integrated RSA for Multicast in Elastic Optical Networks with a Layered Approach" by Xiahe Liu, Long Gong, Zuqing Zhu.
 - b. Future IEEE conferences: Other conferences include: ICC '14 Sydney, GC '14 Austin and ICC '15 London.
- 6. Publications:
 - a. IEEE/OSA JOCN: Vincent mentioned that the best paper award will be named in honor of Nobel Prize Laureate Charles Kao.
- 7. Standards and Industry Activities:
 - a. Dominic Schupke, Industry Liaison: Nothing to report.
 - b. Josue Kuri, Standards Liaison: Nothing to report
- 8. Mailing list and website: ONTC has about 500 members now. The list is not moderated but only subscribers are allowed to post. The website located at http://committees.comsoc.org/ontc/ has been updated. ONTC has a strict policy on conference and workshop sponsorship. Check website for details.
- 9. Other business: None.

Meeting adjourned at 2:30 pm.

Minutes recorded by George Rouskas